PART HUNDRED AND TWENTY TWO

PART HUNDRED AND TWENTY TWO

We spent most of the day shopping in Lenz, it’s been tiring but we getting there. Ziyaad had already picked out an outfit, Humeira sent me the colour of her outfit so we matched Ziyaads outfit with hers. I think they will look stunning on their wedding day, Humeira is going to wearing a lovely Indian outfit. I still have to find out from Raeesa what she is planning on wearing, but Yaseen is adamant on wearing a suit.

I’m thinking of sending him with Ahmed to buy a suit at the place Ahmed buys his suits from. We still have time for Yaseen’s wedding I think, they haven’t set a date yet or had any contact with my parents since the last time we saw them. Ahmed suggested we meet with them or call them and see when do they plan on having the wedding. Ahmed and my Dad discussed what they would do.

My mum and I went to look for ornaments or little decorative objects for the parcels. I bought a few things I thought Humeira and Raeesa would like. Tomorrow my family will be leaving, it was really nice having them over. Our last night together, so Ahmed and I decided to take everyone out.

When we got back we had visitors waiting for us, my mums family came to see them. My cousins brought some things we can use to decorate the parcels, we sat and spoke mostly about the weddings. It’s so much fun when everyone joins in the wedding plans, it makes it more memorable. At least now I won’t have to do shopping alone.

This morning was such a rush, my Dad wanted to leave by 10am and my brother were delaying them. They eventually left just before 11. Today for the first time I felt lonely, Ahmed went to work and my family left to go back home. I was alone in our big house. Nomsa was around but still, she was busy with her work and I cooked finish and then had nothing to do.

This coming weekend is Ahmed’s cousins wedding. It’s here in Lenz. The functions starts from Thursday supper and Zikr, then Friday Mendhi, Saturday Wedding and Sunday Walima. Ahmed and I went to see them to see if they needed any help. They got caterers for all the functions, so they not doing much work.

It’s not like any other function I’ve been to, the weddings I’ve been to are done by the family. All the cooking, making salads, desserts, baking all made by family. Here we were told not to make any cakes or biscuits or bring any food stuff because they ordered everything. I understand it will be too much food and wastage but really to order everything.

Tonight is the supper and Zikr, supper was nice and Zikr was lovely but the atmosphere was terrible. You wouldn’t say there’s a wedding in their house. Everyone comes for the functions and leave immediately after, no masti or anything. We got home just after 10 which was early coming from a wedding house.

Ahmed looked very tensed today, when he got back from work he went straight to the study, he didn’t have anything to eat or drink, he didn’t look for me. I knew he was home because I saw the driver from the window. He didn’t speak to me on the way to his Aunty. When we got back he went straight to the study.

I didn’t want to disturb him, I’m sure it’s work related, I’ll give him some space, when he is ready he will tell me what’s bothering him. I went to bed without speaking to Ahmed. I tossed and turned for a while, I was worried about what was troubling him. I don’t know when I finally fell asleep.

I woke up in the middle of the night, Ahmed was not in bed, I went to check where he was, he was still working in the study. I knew something big was wrong, he never works until so late. I asked him if he needed anything, he looked at me like I was crazy. He got up from his chair, walked me to bed and sat next to me.

He took his shoes off and pulled the duvet over us. He told me to lay down and he held my hand and pat me gently on my head. His behaviour was strange and freaked me out. I fell asleep and next thing it was 8am in the morning. Ahmed was still asleep next to me, I woke him up and told him to get ready for work, in the meantime I would make his breakfast.

When Ahmed came down for breakfast I asked him what happened last night. He was stressed for his trip to China and  he had a lot of work for the China meeting and didn’t realise the client wanted all the documents ready. He had to work on it to get it finished. He shouted at me for coming downstairs in the middle of the night. He said, ‘You should be more careful.’

My mother-in-law came with her sisters to come see the house. She hasn’t seen much before, She kept going on about the room we chose for the nursery. We haven’t decorated the room as yet beside the walls,she feels we should start buying furniture and things. I’m only in my third month of pregnancy.

I don’t want to buy things so soon. we decided that when I’m six or seven months pregnant we would go look for furniture. Ahmed has a lot on his plate right now and I don’t want to add to his stress. After they left I got ready for the Mendhi party and Supper that they were having.

We were suppose to be there after maghrib but Ahmed had not yet returned from work, I tried calling but can’t get through to him. I waited for a while and then left without him. My Mother-in-law kept annoying me,asking all the time where Ahmed was, ‘He knows he has a responsibility here,’ she continuously moaned.

Ahmed finally came to the function, his mother went on like her son came back from war. She was just the most aggravating person I have met. She can pretend and carry on like no one cares for her. She is so false at times, I just want to shake her and say ‘ wake up, you not the most important person in universe.’

I know she is my mother-in-law and I should not be saying such things about her, I do respect her, I do care for her but sometimes she can over-react and just annoy everyone. She likes everyone to give her all the attention. I won’t be surprised if she tries to steal the limelight at the wedding. AND TWENTY TWO

We spent most of the day shopping in Lenz, it’s been tiring but we getting there. Ziyaad had already picked out an outfit, Humeira sent me the colour of her outfit so we matched Ziyaads outfit with hers. I think they will look stunning on their wedding day, Humeira is going to wearing a lovely Indian outfit. I still have to find out from Raeesa what she is planning on wearing, but Yaseen is adamant on wearing a suit.

I’m thinking of sending him with Ahmed to buy a suit at the place Ahmed buys his suits from. We still have time for Yaseen’s wedding I think, they haven’t set a date yet or had any contact with my parents since the last time we saw them. Ahmed suggested we meet with them or call them and see when do they plan on having the wedding. Ahmed and my Dad discussed what they would do.

My mum and I went to look for ornaments or little decorative objects for the parcels. I bought a few things I thought Humeira and Raeesa would like. Tomorrow my family will be leaving, it was really nice having them over. Our last night together, so Ahmed and I decided to take everyone out.

When we got back we had visitors waiting for us, my mums family came to see them. My cousins brought some things we can use to decorate the parcels, we sat and spoke mostly about the weddings. It’s so much fun when everyone joins in the wedding plans, it makes it more memorable. At least now I won’t have to do shopping alone.

This morning was such a rush, my Dad wanted to leave by 10am and my brother were delaying them. They eventually left just before 11. Today for the first time I felt lonely, Ahmed went to work and my family left to go back home. I was alone in our big house. Nomsa was around but still, she was busy with her work and I cooked finish and then had nothing to do.

This coming weekend is Ahmed’s cousins wedding. It’s here in Lenz. The functions starts from Thursday supper and Zikr, then Friday Mendhi, Saturday Wedding and Sunday Walima. Ahmed and I went to see them to see if they needed any help. They got caterers for all the functions, so they not doing much work.

It’s not like any other function I’ve been to, the weddings I’ve been to are done by the family. All the cooking, making salads, desserts, baking all made by family. Here we were told not to make any cakes or biscuits or bring any food stuff because they ordered everything. I understand it will be too much food and wastage but really to order everything.

Tonight is the supper and Zikr, supper was nice and Zikr was lovely but the atmosphere was terrible. You wouldn’t say there’s a wedding in their house. Everyone comes for the functions and leave immediately after, no masti or anything. We got home just after 10 which was early coming from a wedding house.

Ahmed looked very tensed today, when he got back from work he went straight to the study, he didn’t have anything to eat or drink, he didn’t look for me. I knew he was home because I saw the driver from the window. He didn’t speak to me on the way to his Aunty. When we got back he went straight to the study.

I didn’t want to disturb him, I’m sure it’s work related, I’ll give him some space, when he is ready he will tell me what’s bothering him. I went to bed without speaking to Ahmed. I tossed and turned for a while, I was worried about what was troubling him. I don’t know when I finally fell asleep.

I woke up in the middle of the night, Ahmed was not in bed, I went to check where he was, he was still working in the study. I knew something big was wrong, he never works until so late. I asked him if he needed anything, he looked at me like I was crazy. He got up from his chair, walked me to bed and sat next to me.

He took his shoes off and pulled the duvet over us. He told me to lay down and he held my hand and pat me gently on my head. His behaviour was strange and freaked me out. I fell asleep and next thing it was 8am in the morning. Ahmed was still asleep next to me, I woke him up and told him to get ready for work, in the meantime I would make his breakfast.

When Ahmed came down for breakfast I asked him what happened last night. He was stressed for his trip to China and  he had a lot of work for the China meeting and didn’t realise the client wanted all the documents ready. He had to work on it to get it finished. He shouted at me for coming downstairs in the middle of the night. He said, ‘You should be more careful.’

My mother-in-law came with her sisters to come see the house. She hasn’t seen much before, She kept going on about the room we chose for the nursery. We haven’t decorated the room as yet beside the walls,she feels we should start buying furniture and things. I’m only in my third month of pregnancy.

I don’t want to buy things so soon. we decided that when I’m six or seven months pregnant we would go look for furniture. Ahmed has a lot on his plate right now and I don’t want to add to his stress. After they left I got ready for the Mendhi party and Supper that they were having.

We were suppose to be there after maghrib but Ahmed had not yet returned from work, I tried calling but can’t get through to him. I waited for a while and then left without him. My Mother-in-law kept annoying me,asking all the time where Ahmed was, ‘He knows he has a responsibility here,’ she continuously moaned.

Ahmed finally came to the function, his mother went on like her son came back from war. She was just the most aggravating person I have met. She can pretend and carry on like no one cares for her. She is so false at times, I just want to shake her and say ‘ wake up, you not the most important person in universe.’

I know she is my mother-in-law and I should not be saying such things about her, I do respect her, I do care for her but sometimes she can over-react and just annoy everyone. She likes everyone to give her all the attention. I won’t be surprised if she tries to steal the limelight at the wedding.

Leave a Reply

