PART FOURTHEEN

PART FOURTHEEN 

I decided to tell Asad I didn’t want him finding out from someone else. I phoned him and arranged to meet at the coffee shop later in the day.

I had so much to do today, Zinat came back from her honeymoon so I went to see how she was doing, see had a blast on her honeymoon although she missed home like crazy. 

She is excited to get into a new routine and start a family of her own. I’m glad she is happy. 

I didn’t want to spoil her happy moments with my troubles so I didn’t tell her anything, I will tell her but once everything is sorted in her life. 

Asad met me at the coffee shop as arranged, I was nervous and didn’t know how to tell him but I had to get over with it today. 

Me: My brother-in-law is bringing a guy home to see me on Tuesday. 

Asad: Are you serious? Why? Are you interested in this guy?

Me: I haven’t met him none of us have besides my brother-in-law and sister. I didn’t tell them I’m looking for a guy or anything, they don’t even know about you. 

Asad: So what are you going to do?

There was a few minutes of silence between us before Asad got up and walked out of the coffee shop. I was shocked at his reaction. 

I ran out to see if he was okay but he left already. This was not good, I don’t think he will ever speak to me again. I tried calling him but he didn’t answer. 

A feeling of fear was overwhelming my mind and I didn’t know what to do, I went to his flat but no one answered the door. I saw his car in the parking lot so he was home. He is upset.

I sent him a message but got no reply so I went home. I called Zinat and told her everything she told me not to worry she would speak to Muneer. 

The waiting killed me, I hated that everything is dependent on someone else and I have no clue what was going on. 

I kept trying to call him but he never answered, I left numerous messages but no reply. 

Do I tell my family everything and tell them not to call this other guy and will everything be okay then, will Asad be okay then? 

It didn’t occur to me that I was being too worried about how Asad felt, why was I worried more about what he thought and felt. All this didn’t strike me until Zinat asked me these questions. 

We were not dating because I wouldn’t date as it is not allowed in Islam. Asad also didn’t want to date, although we met once for lunch that was more of a thank you lunch, at least to me it was.

I told Zinat that Asad and I are just friends and we went for lunch just once as friends, Zinat had a point when she asked why did I have to tell him about this other guy why I felt I owed him that.

I guess because I know he has feelings for me, I thought I owed him that much or for the sake of our friendship.

By Safiyyah Ameer

Leave a Reply

