PART TEN

PART TEN 

 

The letter left me in tears, my heart felt warm and fuzzy and butterflies in my stomach. I’ve never felt like this before.

 

I manage to sneak all the gifts into the house when my phone rings, making everyone in the lounge alert, I didn’t know whether to answer the call or run from embarrassment. 

 

I quickly walked to my room with a huge grin on my face. It was Asad.

 

Asad: Assalaamu Alaikum, how are you?

 

Me: Waalaikum salaam, I’m good and you? 

 

Asad : Did you get my parcel?

 

Me: Jee I did, thank you. The letter was lovely. 

 

We spoke for about an hour about anything and everything. He wanted so much to ask if I have changed my mind but he held it in. I’m glad he did, it would have just felt awkward, I’m not sure myself what I want. 

 

Asad messages me five minutes after asking me to lunch the next day, at first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to accept or not, but then I thought it’s just lunch. 

 

The next morning I had a ton of things I needed to do, my Dad wanted me to sort out a few bills and pick up a parcel from the post office. 

 

It was a lovely sunny day, I thought of rather going to the lake for a picnic instead of a restaurant but then I thought a picnic is a bit too personal and romantic. I didn’t want him to get the wrong ideas.

 

I had some time before lunch so I went to visit Aunty Farida, their house is so dull. I guess I’m use to having Zinat screaming all the time when I go there. Uncle Rashid had the newspaper in his hand pretending to read it, I saw right through his act.

 

I left to meet Asad for lunch, I never told anyone,didn’t want to get caught, I felt like I was sneaking around. 

 

When I got to the restaurant I meet Asad in the parking lot, “right on time” he says, I just smiled, we were seated and ordered lunch. 

 

While we waited for our food to arrive we spoke a bit about his family. His parents live in overport, his father owns a business and his mother is a housewife, he has a elder sister Farzana, she is married in Nelspruit and has two lovely boys Anas and Owais. Farzanas Husband is Naeem and he is a Doctor. 

Lunch was not bad I had a great time, after lunch Asad wanted me to go to his and Muneers Flat but I refused, I didn’t think it was right but I invited him over to my house, I felt that it would be much better since my parents were around so it would be a casual visit and not too awkward.

Leave a Reply

